Joel {birth and newborn}

This past week, I had the amazing honor of being at the birth of my sister’s first baby.

dsc_0017I had spoken with her that afternoon and she told me she had been having uncomfortable contractions throughout the day, and thought she was probably in early labor.  I told I would keep my phone near by, but I honestly did not think things were going to happen as quickly as they did!  Her water broke around 9 that evening, and they were on their way to the birthing center by 10:30.  I got the message late and rushed out, thankfully in time to document a little bit of her labor and capture Joel’s entrance to the world at 1:48am the following morning.dsc_0026

Kaitie did amazing and these pictures do not do her justice, even so, in their imperfections, they are here to share.  She was surrounded by an incredible birth support team, including her husband who was there for her the entire way, as she used all her strength to bring her sweet boy here.

I was back home by 5:30 in the morning and rested for a couple of hours before starting my day.  It is amazing how the lack of sleep doesn’t matter to me at all (although I was very happy to climb into bed that evening), because even that next day I felt myself being propelled by the same excitement and adrenaline of the night before.  Maybe this wears off over time, but I love it right now.

I was able to come back over the weekend and not only hold my beautiful new nephew while chatting with my sister and brother-in-law, but also have some fun snapping pictures of their new family in their home.

-b.e.

Leave a comment