baby Althea {birth story}

A couple of months ago, a friend asked me if I would be able to be the photographer for the birth of their second little girl.  I was absolutely honored with the request and quickly penciled in her due date on my calendar.  This past Saturday evening I received the call that she was in labor and excitedly grabbed my things and headed out.

I was worried I might miss it due to the travel time, but thankfully I arrived with plenty of time to spare. It was just after 8PM when I walked in and I was able to have the joy of meeting their beautiful little girl, miss E, and peek in on some sweet family moments as they put her to bed for the night.

This beautiful mama was up smiling and walking in between contractions and then laying and resting still and peaceful when one came.  I was amazed to see her strength and control. Even as she sang her sweet girl to bed, you wouldn’t know she was in pain as she tried to hide it to help ease her young one’s anxiety.

Once little E was in bed, labor quickly picked up.  Her husband was right there by her side, quick to fill any need and keep her smiling as much as possible.  I found myself feeling moved by the love and partnership I saw between them one moment, and then laughing from their funny stories and jokes told between contractions the next.

 

Just before midnight, she was ready to push, and with amazing control she gave birth to their beautiful Althea and held her in her arms for the first time.  I hope these images capture a glimpse of the love and warmth this sweet babe was welcomed into.

I think birth workers have the best jobs in the world.

– b.e.

Leave a comment